Pension Plans

Yesterday the mail was later than usual, like about an hour and a half late. I didn’t mind that much as I wasn’t expecting anything anyway. So imagine my surprise when I saw Mary Jo, the mail carrier, and she said she had a certified letter that I had to sign for.

It was from a company that I had worked for and it looked like the same kind of stuff they normally send. But why would they need a signature for that junk? I signed her cards, opened it up and started to flip through the pages. Page two caught my eye really quick.

It turns out that I had been paying into a pension plan even while I was on long-term disability. The papers wanted to know if I wanted a monthly allotment or a lump sum. I turned to May Jo and asked her to look at the paper and see if she saw the same numbers that I did? She did and suggested that I call the company to verify what the papers said.

I quickly went to my apartment and called the pension department and the young man kindly walked me through all the papers telling me which ones I needed to fill out, sign and send back.

After taxes are taken out there will be enough to pay all my outstanding bills making me debt free, a security deposit on a new apartment closer to my Daughter’s family and get a new used small truck for me! My Daughter suggested I take the tithe on the money and split it between my current church and two other pastor friends who are in the middle of expanding their church buildings. Great idea!

It’s almost 1:00 in the morning and I can’t sleep. I’ve been lying in bed thinking of all the ways to spend the rest of the money. After laying there for an hour asking God to forgive me for being so selfish, I suggested to Him that I just ride out this little storm of greed because he knew that I really wanted to be accountable with His money.

It seems to have worked because the tempest in that teacup has calmed down and I can truly think of the money as God’s and not mine. I want to be accountable to him and use it wisely remembering that as I spend each dollar I will not be able to spend that dollar again.

I don’t need a $200 camera or a Wii or to buy a data package for my phone. I don’t need to buy any number of electronic “toys” that I really don’t  have to have just because I finally will have the money to get them.

What I’d really like to do is take a trip to Georgia and see a very dear friend whom I haven’t seen face-to-face for almost twenty-five years. We talk on the phone weekly for about an hour at a time. We’re on the same “friends and family” carrier so the minutes don’t count against our bills. I wish I could take us both to Israel but that’s not going to happen either!

All this talking about pension plans make me very aware of another Pension Plan I have. One I didn’t have to pay anything into. In fact, I had nothing to contribute to it at all. Jesus paid the premiums himself with his very life. This Pension Plan was sealed and guaranteed by God, Himself, when He raised Jesus from the dead and seated him at His own right hand, the Position of Power.

God gave Jesus the power to rule over all kingdoms of the earth and bring to himself all those who choose to accept his free gift of mercy and grace, granting to us Salvation for all eternity.

All we have to do is agree with God that we have broken trust with Him, that we have broken His laws and chose to go our own way. We have sinned and deserve to pay the price of our sin ourselves.  But God in His great mercy sent His only Son to die in our place to pay the price for our sin so that we can stand pure and blameless before Him as His adopted children. All we have to do is repent of our sins and as Jesus to come into our life as Lord and Savior.

1 John 1:9 says that “If we confess our sins then He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”

That’s all there is to it and then we receive the best Pension Plan of all, an eternity with Jesus.

I think I can go back to bed and get some sleep now. Night all!  Zzzzzzzzzzzz

About coalowl

My eyes are green, my hair is white and the rest changes without notice and frequently does! I've been a volunteer with the American Red Cross since 1972 and currently a MN State Certified Emergency Manager.
This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

