Staying Faithful

Joshua 23:15-16 (MSG)“But just as sure as everything good that God, your God, has promised has come true, so also God will bring to pass every bad thing until there’s nothing left of you in this good land that God has given you. If you leave the path of the Covenant of God, your God, that he commanded you, go off and serve and worship other gods, God’s anger will blaze out against you. In no time at all there’ll be nothing left of you, no sign that you’ve ever been in this good land he gave you.”

We all know that it’s easy to trust God when things are going well. Today is a “not so well day”. It is a struggle to say “I still trust you Lord, I still love you, I still know that everything is going to work out for my best, I’m disappointed that things are not turning out like I had hoped they would. Father, did I run ahead of you again?”

There is an old saying that goes, “If you want to make God laugh, tell him the plans you made for your life!”  I think He is rolling on the floor laughing out loud again.

This last week I enrolled in American Military University (AMU), an all on-line Nationally Accredited school to finish my Bachelors in Emergency and Disaster Management. I’m also in contact with another county to check on funding to move there.  Finally, I thought I was going to see my grandkids on today. Now it doesn’t look like that is going to happen either. Why am I getting the feeling that God is laughing again?

That’s alright, Lord, I’m glad I could make you smile. I’m just going to sit back and see what you make of my mess. I give it all up to you. You know I’m limited in the types of work I can do and the things I can do, no one wants to pay me to do it. They will happily have me volunteer to do the work, though.

I enjoy learning, Lord. I no sooner received my Certificate in Emergency Management than employers now want me to have a Bachelor’s degree.  So I enrolled in AMU. That plus forty years in Disaster Services with the Red Cross should count for something, right? Father, if this is not where you want me please make it very clear very soon so that I can cancel the classes. If you do want me here please have that other nameless University release my transcripts so that I don’t have to re-take the General Education classes again and waste two years.

Father, if you want me to stay in Duluth, please, make that very clear by shutting all doors in the other county. I would really like to move there as I miss not seeing my Grandkids more often than I do.

So, Father, I guess the bottom line is that I know you have a better plan for my life than I do. Please forgive me for getting ahead of you again and not checking with you to begin with. You know that I trust you to have what’s best for me on your mind. Sometimes I forget that all things will happen in your time, not mine.

I’m sorry that I’ve been cranky and depressed lately and I thank you for helping me keep my temper in check. You know the damage I’ve done before as in throwing things away that I should have kept, like my A.A. diplomas. Thank you for staying faithful to me when I’ve tried to go off on my own and thank you for giving me more second chances in a day than I can count! Thank you for forgiving me and for loving me. Amen

About coalowl

My eyes are green, my hair is white and the rest changes without notice and frequently does! I've been a volunteer with the American Red Cross since 1972 and currently a MN State Certified Emergency Manager.
This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

