Get alone With God

Luke 5:16 (ERV) “Jesus often went away to other places to be alone so that he could pray”

Sometimes, I need to go somewhere quieter, by myself, to spend time with God. Women’s weekend retreats are fun and it’s great to make new friends but I still need that time outside to be alone with my Father God.

I need the slower pace to hear the wind in the trees, chipmunks scampering in the underbrush and birds in the trees. I need to see the stars in the sky again. That’s where I feel closest to God. I declare, if I could live in a small log cabin just inside the tree line near a lake I’d be the happiest person in the world. Of course having internet and power are a must but there are ways to work that out.

Jesus felt that way also. The Bible mentions often that Jesus would take off, usually early in the morning, to spend time with his Father. It was his time to refresh his Spirit, to get comfort and to restore himself to be able to meet the demands of the coming day.

Since Jesus felt the need to do this on a regular basis, how much more do I need to do this? I have no strength of my own. I can do nothing without Him and expect to succeed. I’m like a Buck Private going to my Commander to get my marching orders for the day.

It’s not just reading a Bible chapter for the day and mumbling a quick prayer as I head out the door. It’s having a question and searching the Bible for the answer. For example, I’ve heard the words “wisdom and knowledge” bantered about and used interchangeably. I wanted to know what the Bible said was the difference between them. That was a very interesting and instructive hour spend, uninterrupted and without any distractions, with God.

I came away filled with, not only the answer to my question but the sense of joy knowing He was pleased I had chosen to spend concentrated time with Him. That’s what can happen when you take the time to get away.

I know, I know. There’s work to do, kids to chase down, laundry, meals to fix, house to clean, errands to run, yard work, the list never ends. But you can’t do all of this on your own energy. Sometimes you have to get a sitter or send the kids to Grandma’s and get away to replenish your own physical and spiritual batteries. How can you expect to lead your children well in their walk with God if you don’t spend time alone with Him yourself? That’s like trying to bail out a leaking boat with a pail that has half a bottom!

Take the time, make the time, and get a pail that has no holes. Better yet, get a boat and ask Jesus to ride along with you. Do you realize that every boat that Jesus was ever in never sank while He was in it?

About coalowl

My eyes are green, my hair is white and the rest changes without notice and frequently does! I've been a volunteer with the American Red Cross since 1972 and currently a MN State Certified Emergency Manager.
This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

