Life without Internet

Sorry this is so late in the day getting out. Hopefully the title tells all!

It’s been three days now without having internet here at home. Seems there is some pesky law that says if you want to drive then you must have auto insurance. The budget says I have $50 to spend and I can have either Internet or Insurance.

Pro and Con time: having insurance means I can come and go when I want and it’s also easier to get groceries home from the store. Con: pay for gas and maintenance, and driving in bad weather. Insurance – including basic coverage and renters insurance – $48.00.

Pro’s for having internet: Of course there is the ability to access it 24/7, sitting in a comfy recliner, coffee, dark chocolate, and a fridge at hand. Con: not having all the above and having to walk where I can access the internet. Internet with its latest $5 increase as thanks for being such a great customer – $55.00!

Actually walking has its own benefits as good exercise, as the Library is literally across the street and Caribou coffee shop is only a thirty minute walk. There is the fresh air and a change of scenery that you can enjoy at your own pace without having to keep your eyes on the road. It also feels so good to be out and about after eight months of being cooped up with Mono!

That reminds me (being cooped up) of a storyline in the movie “The Robe” with Richard Burton. He was talking with a young woman who was a paraplegic. He asked her what it was that she had to sing about seeing that she was stuck in her chair all day. He had been told she was healed. Her reply was that Jesus had not healed her legs but her heart so that others could see that they too, could have joy in their circumstances.

I find joy in my life circumstances because I choose to. I enjoy getting out and walking even if I do have to drag my laptop along. I’m thankful I have a laptop to drag around, and that there is a safe place to walk. I’m very glad that there is good coffee waiting for me at the end of my walk!

I’m very thankful that you have chosen to join me on my journey. May you chose to find joy in your circumstances also.

About coalowl

My eyes are green, my hair is white and the rest changes without notice and frequently does! I've been a volunteer with the American Red Cross since 1972 and currently a MN State Certified Emergency Manager.
This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

