Choices

A young woman wrote on a Social Media page, “I was born and raised in the church. I sang in the choir, went to Sunday school and participated in youth group. What I got out of it was that we are to love one another. Everyone. Regardless of race, creed, etc. I don’t think that God meant it to be multiple choice. I have many friends who have chosen who they love, whose relationships have outlasted many traditional marriages, and yet they are shunned and not afforded the same equality that I have. I don’t care who they are with or what they do behind closed doors. They are my friends, co-workers and family members and I love them for who they are.”

I replied to her “I agree that God says we are to love one another. He also says in Leviticus 20:13 “if a man has sexual relations with a man as one does with a woman, both of them have done what is detestable. They are to be put to death; their blood will be on their own heads. We can’t pick and choose out of the Bible, what we want to believe. Jesus also says we are to hate the sin but love the sinner. In this way we can win them to Christ. Hope this helps.”

There wasn’t room to write more in the space allowed, so if you don’t mind I’ll finish my thoughts here.

Don’t get me wrong about my stand on Homosexuals. I believe that this lifestyle is a sin as stated in the verse above. I also don’t believe in stoning anyone. People can’t repent if they are dead.

I have had and still have several Gay and Lesbian friends in my lifetime. They all know I believe their choice of sexual preferences goes against God’s Law. They also know that I value them as people and friends and that I pray for them that God will convict them and show His love for them through me.

God instituted marriage when He created Eve and presented her to Adam. Genesis 1:27-28 (KJV) “So God created man in his own image, in the image of God created he him; male and female created he them.28 And God blessed them, and God said unto them, Be fruitful, and multiply, and replenish the earth, and subdue it.” A few verses later He makes it very clear as to who is to marry whom “Therefore shall a man leave his father and his mother, and shall cleave unto his wife: and they shall be one flesh.” Genesis 2:24.

Another reason for marriage is that this was God’s plan for re-populating the earth. A marriage of two men or two women cannot fulfill this plan.

The bottom line is that man has decided that he doesn’t need God and had named himself a god and chooses to put himself over the One who made him. Sound familiar? His name is Satan and those who choose their own will over God’s will for their life will join Satan in hell for eternity.

I am not anyone’s judge or jury, that’s God’s job. But I can let others know that God wants all who are struggling, with whatever sin is in their life, to give their life over to Him, ask for and accept His forgiveness and make Him, Lord of their lives.

No matter what has happened to you, the choices you have made, the wrongs that you have committed against yourself or others, there is nothing and I do mean nothing that God in His great Mercy won’t forgive you if you ask Him.

“But you don’t know what I’ve done”, you say. I don’t need to know. God knows your heart already. He wants to be a part of your life so much more than you want Him! He died for you and rose again so that you may –
Trust – that He will do as He promised
Believe – on the Lord Jesus Christ and ask Him into your life
Faith – that when you confess with your mouth Jesus is Lord, He will cleanse you from all your sin and someday will take you to Heaven with Him to live eternally.

I don’t hate anyone who believes or lives differently than I do. I do believe that God is the Creator of everything and everyone and we owe Him for our very breath. I also believe that it is our duty and privilege to obey and worship Him.

It is not God’s fault that the world is in the shape it’s in. It is mankind’s fault. Every since Satan tempted Adam and Eve in the Garden, man has fought against his Creator to run things his way. The world we live in today is the result of that sin. God allows bad things to happen to try to teach us that His is the better way if only we will turn back to Him.

Isaiah 64:7 (NIV) No one calls on your (God’s) name or strives to lay hold of you; for you have hidden your face from us and have given us over to our sins.”

1 John 1:9 (NIV) 9 If we tell Him our sins, He is faithful and we can depend on Him to forgive us of our sins. He will make our lives clean from all sin.

Acts 2:21 And it shall come to pass, that whosoever shall call on the name of the Lord shall be saved.

About coalowl

My eyes are green, my hair is white and the rest changes without notice and frequently does! I've been a volunteer with the American Red Cross since 1972 and currently a MN State Certified Emergency Manager.
This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

