Hard times can equal Great Praise

Hmmm I seem to be seeing a recurring theme this morning as I read through my email and other blogs.

Rabbi Yechiel Eckstein had this to say;

The psalmist recognizes there are times in our lives that are challenging, and so the last three verses (in Psalms 113) are devoted to inspiring even those going through hard times to praise God. The psalmist reminds us that God “raises the poor from the dust and lifts the needy from the ash heap.” Psalm 113:7–8. God places the formerly destitute together with princes, and God turns the barren woman into the happy mother of many. The message: Even if your situation seems terrible at this very moment, praise God and thank Him for His ability to change it!”

Another Blogger, B.J. Cassady said “The doctor told me on Friday that my wife could not survive over the weekend the way she was. He told me he was going to start a medication that works in only five percent of the cases. Wow, a one in twenty shot! So the odds were 95 percent against her… This was my test of faith. Would I believe facts or have faith? I choose faith. In fact, I stayed home the next day, Saturday to do homework, pay bills and rest.

Sunday, when I woke up, I KNEW my wife was okay. I was so certain that I bought a dozen roses and a congratulations card (not a get well card) and went to the hospital. I entered her room and, sitting on the side of the bed, confused but alive, was my wife.

I laughed, I cried, then I got down on my knees and gave Thanks… Yes, as simple as it sounds, I gave thanks to God for keeping His promise. What did I learn from that episode? Hope, prayer and faith are the cornerstones of our life.”

1 Peter 1:5-7 Contemporary English Version (CEV)”5 You have faith in God, whose power will protect you until the last day. Then he will save you, just as he has always planned to do. 6 On that day you will be glad, even if you have to go through many hard trials for a while. 7 Your faith will be like gold that has been tested in a fire. And these trials will prove that your faith is worth much more than gold that can be destroyed. They will show that you will be given praise and honor and glory when Jesus Christ returns.”

Have you noticed that when you focus more on what God is trying to teach you during the trial, and thank Him for it, it’s easier to bear?

It doesn’t matter whether the trial is that you can’t drive your car because you don’t have insurance and you missed a three-day class you wanted to take (me) or you’re going through the loss of a loved one. It’s your choice to thank God for protecting you from a possible accident or shaking your fist at God for not being able to come and go when you please. It’s being grateful for the time you had with your love one or resenting that you didn’t have more time with that precious person.

There are 477 verses in God’s Word that mention praise or praising. They deal with praising God in all different kinds of situations. I’m sure you can find one to fit your current trial. Here are a couple of my favorites.

John 16:33 (NKJV) ”These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.”

Psalm 30:11-12  (CEV)”11 You have turned my sorrow into joyful dancing. No longer am I sad
and wearing sackcloth. 12 I thank you from my heart, and I will never stop singing your praises,
my Lord and my God.”

About coalowl

My eyes are green, my hair is white and the rest changes without notice and frequently does! I've been a volunteer with the American Red Cross since 1972 and currently a MN State Certified Emergency Manager.
This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

