Don’t call me “religious”

Mark 7:6-8 (MSG) Jesus answered, “Isaiah was right about frauds like you, hit the bull’s-eye in fact: These people make a big show of saying the right thing, but their heart isn’t in it. They act like they are worshiping me, but they don’t mean it. They just use me as a cover for teaching whatever suits their fancy, ditching God’s command and taking up the latest fads.”

“Call me ugly, stupid, short, weird, an idiot, or just plain ignorant. Call me anything you want, but please, oh please, don’t call me “religious.” I detest religion. It has caused multiple and tragic wars throughout history. It comes in second, after atheistic communism–which is responsible for more than 100 million deaths. I’m pleased to say that I don’t have a religious bone in my body. I didn’t kill witches, murder during the Crusades, imprison Galileo, or torture people in the Spanish Inquisition. I don’t believe that anyone can obtain eternal life by being religious, or by doing religious works. I am simply a sinner, saved from damnation by the grace of God, and I am proud to be called a “Christian” because I am a follower of Jesus Christ. I believe that eternal life is a free gift of God that comes through repentance towards the God we have offended, and through trust in the Savior, as taught by the Scriptures.. — via Ray Comfort”

I saw this on Facebook one morning and couldn’t say it any better or agree any more strongly! There have been so many acts of violence done in the name of “religion” that has nothing whatsoever to do with the Love of God and His Son, Jesus Christ. The Bible says in 2 Corinthians 13:11 “ Finally, brethren, rejoice, be made complete, be comforted, be like-minded, live in peace; and the God of love and peace will be with you.”

When men take up arms to force their religion on others and call it a “holy war”, it has nothing to do with the God of Heaven! It has everything to do with greed and domination and the god of this world which is the Devil. 1 Peter 5:8 warns us to “Be of sober spirit, be on the alert. Your adversary, the devil, prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour.”

There is always going to be someone who will accuse you of being a “religious fanatic” because of your stand with Jesus, but I encourage you to stand firm. Ephesians 6:10-12 says “Finally, be strong in the Lord and in the strength of His might. Put on the full armor of God, so that you will be able to stand firm against the schemes of the devil. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the powers, against the world forces of this darkness, against the spiritual forces of wickedness in the heavenly places”.

The good news is that (Jesus speaking)”I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” John 16:33 (NIV) Now that is great news!

About coalowl

My eyes are green, my hair is white and the rest changes without notice and frequently does! I've been a volunteer with the American Red Cross since 1972 and currently a MN State Certified Emergency Manager.
This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

