How sad to have no Hope

About nine o’clock last night my next door neighbor fell from his tenth floor window. It was said by the police that after he got out the window and was hanging by his hands that he changed his mind but did not have the strength to pull himself back inside. As the police were talking to him, he said he could not hold on any longer, lost his grip and fell ten stories.

I was sitting in my living room, two windows away and only heard some man calling up to a friend or so I thought. No call for help and no scream as he fell. It wasn’t until the police knocked on my door that I had any indication there was anything wrong. Then I looked out my window and saw six police cars and an ambulance.

I turned away with questions and memories rushing through my mind. What in the world possessed him to do such a thing? What drove me to consider jumping from a bridge forty years ago? Why did he go through with it? Why didn’t I jump?

I can only answer for my own actions. I felt entirely depressed, alone, worthless and unwanted. I was totally consumed with “self”.  Then the question came “If you go through with this, how are you going to explain to God that your plans to end your life now was better than His plans for you?”  I had to walk a bit and think about that. Next thing I knew, I was back home and had my answer. “I’m not that stupid to face down God.”

I know that may sound like I’m criticizing or judging my neighbor, but I’m not. I have no clue what was going through his mind to cause him to do such a thing. What I’m saying is that I had invited Someone in my life and He was watching over me. He wasn’t ready for me to come home yet. I had not finished whatever it was that He wanted me to do. He reminded me that in Him, I still had hope!

We all come to that place in our life when we get to the edge of our own cliff. Do we take that last step and let gravity work or do we turn and take a step back toward safety. I chose to turn around then and I choose the same action daily. No, I’m not suicidal anymore. I know I’ll get to Heaven someday, but it will be in God’s time, not mine and Brother, I am looking forward to that day!

My heart breaks for my neighbor and his family but God’s heart is breaking too because when His children hurt, so does He. I don’t know if my neighbor knew Christ or not. I do know that at first he saw no hope for his situation otherwise he would not have gone out the window. I’m glad to hear that he changed his mind and wanted to live but at that point it was too late and no one could get to him in time.

Please never put yourself in the same position. You may think there is no hope but that’s a lie straight from hell. There is always Someone you can call on. Jesus is right there for you and with you. All you have to do is call on Him. He will never force Himself on you. You must ask Him to come into your life, forgive you of your sins and turn from them. He will wash your sins away and stand with you the rest of your life no matter what comes.

This is so important. Don’t let another day go by without Him walking beside you and helping you to walk away from the cliffs and windows in your life. Sooner or later, no matter what happens, God will make everything turn out ok. It may not be the result you want, but it will be God’s best for you. Please talk to Him today then comment on this post so that I can pray with you and for you.

About coalowl

My eyes are green, my hair is white and the rest changes without notice and frequently does! I've been a volunteer with the American Red Cross since 1972 and currently a MN State Certified Emergency Manager.
This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to How sad to have no Hope

  1. Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is magnificent, let alone the content!. Thanks For Your article about How sad to have no Hope | Minutes with Marian .

  2. Baju Bayi says:

    Wow, superb blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is great, let alone the content!. Thanks For Your article about How sad to have no Hope | Minutes with Marian .

  3. Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is great, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about How sad to have no Hope | Minutes with Marian .

    • coalowl says:

      Thanks for looking in, Theodore! I’m glad you like the layout. It’s one I chose from WordPress’s many options. I’ve been blogging since the first week of Feb this year.

  4. Wow, fantastic blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is wonderful, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about How sad to have no Hope | Minutes with Marian .

    • coalowl says:

      Thanks for the complement. I just followed the steps laid out by WordPress.com and made my selections from what they offered for free. I chose the layout and pictures. The only things I add are my posts and God gives me the words to say. I’ve been posting here since Feb 7th of this year.

  5. fly1623 says:

    Reblogged this on Fly1623's Blog…..I like Cake and commented:
    “You must ask Him to come into your life, forgive you of your sins and turn from them. He will wash your sins away and stand with you the rest of your life no matter what comes.”

Leave a Reply

