His strength is made perfect in my weakness

2 Corinthians 12:9 (NIV) 9” But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”

According to Dictionary of Bible Themes1 a weakness can be an illness or other condition which prevents people from achieving their full potential or adversely affects their abilities.

I’ve been dealing with Epstein-Barr (Mononucleosis for the second time) and battling fatigue since the end of August 2012. Now I am developing a virus of some kind on top of that. Talk about feeling weak before, now I can add a virus to top it off! Praise God! It is truly by His strength that I’m writing this devotional today.

All Glory to God for allowing me to draw on His strength for all that I do. Some days just getting showered and dressed is about all I can do. I have a Home Health Aid that comes in twice a week to help with cleaning my small apartment and sometimes putting my supper in the crock pot. She will even run some errands for me if I’m too tired to go out.

Some days I’m a ball of fire with energy to burn but if I’m not careful, I’ll pay for using all that energy by sleeping for the next two days. That’s called being prideful and doing things in my strength and not God’s. Even though the energy may be there and I think I feel great, I’m still affected by the Mono. I have to remember that when I over do things that I will have to pay the cost sooner or later.

So it is when we try to do things before God is ready for us to start.  We run out of energy or money or confidence because we were sure God said “Do it now” when what He really said was “Get ready”.

What are you facing today? Are you leaning on the Father for your daily strength so you can get through the day, or are you going on your own strength and winding up exhausted by the time you get home? Philippians 4:13 (NIV)”I can do all things through him who gives me strength.”

Trust Him, listen to Him, and let God guide you through each and every day. Trust me, the benefits of leaning on Him is a whole lot better than doing things in your own strength.

1 Dictionary of Bible Themes Scripture index copyright Martin H. Manser, 2009.

About coalowl

My eyes are green, my hair is white and the rest changes without notice and frequently does! I've been a volunteer with the American Red Cross since 1972 and currently a MN State Certified Emergency Manager.
This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to His strength is made perfect in my weakness

  1. mestreseo says:

    i like the all pages and all comments. thanks for all!!! regards!!! mestreseo mestreseo mestreseo mestreseo mestreseo

Leave a Reply

