Christ in me

“It is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me” (Gal. 2:20).

Do you remember pop quizzes in school? Sure you do. We would all groan and moan as we pulled out paper and pencil and try to rack our brains for the answers. All except the kids who studied of course.

Well, as much as we may not like tests we get them in some form or another every day. The quick pop quizzes that you’re ready for, oh, oh, pick me, pick me, I know this one!! Tests that brings us to our knees before God in prayer. No, we are not too crazy about the tests in our life but there is Someone who says,” Bring them on. Come ahead, test Me. I’m ready, willing and able to prove My promises to you!” Psalm 18:30 New King James Version (NKJV) says “As for God, His way is perfect; the word of the Lord is proven; He is a shield to all who trust in Him.”

The biggest test we put God to, is that He truly means what He says when, if we put our trust in Him and ask Him to come into our lives and forgive our sins that He will take us to be with Him in Heaven for eternity. Yet, that is exactly what He promises. How can I know for sure, you wonder? Test Him, test the hundreds of promises that the Bible says He has given and He will prove them true.

You can know this because as His child, His Spirit now lives in you. Romans 8:16 (ESV) says “The Spirit Himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God,” That means that Christ now lives in us! We are His child, precious, wanted and loved beyond measure. We are adopted into His family.

In Roman days, a father could disown his own son but if he adopted a son, by law, he could never disown that child. No matter what the child did for the rest of his life, his father could never disown him. As God’s adopted child, we are His forever and He is in us!

Yesterday while reading a devotional by Max Lucado, he quoted “Christ in you, the hope of glory” (Col. 1:27). I realized I had been testing God to continually prove Himself to me that all of His promises to stay with me, keep, comfort, and provide for me and all the rest were true.

You know what finally hit me yesterday? Yep, Christ is in me, and I no longer have to be afraid that He will ever change His mind and dump me. CHRIST is in me. Christ is IN me. Christ is in ME! Christ IS in me. I like that word ‘is’. It means currently active, right now!  Wow, talk about God’s grace and His willingness to bless me with it! It brought tears to my eyes and all I could do was stop and praise and thank Him for His great love for me.

So go ahead; try out God’s promises for yourself. Trust me; He is able to do all He has promised and then some.

About coalowl

My eyes are green, my hair is white and the rest changes without notice and frequently does! I've been a volunteer with the American Red Cross since 1972 and currently a MN State Certified Emergency Manager.
This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

