What it means to give Glory to God

What does it mean to give glory to God? We hear the word glory, all the time in church and read it in the Bible, but what does it actually mean? Let’s start by defining glory.

Dictionary.com defines glory as:

1. Very great praise, honor, or distinction bestowed by common consent; renowned: to win glory on the field of battle.

2. Something that is a source of honor, fame, or admiration; a distinguished ornament or an object of pride: a sonnet that is one of the glories of English poetry.

3. Adoring praise or worshipful thanksgiving: Give glory to God.

4. Resplendent beauty or magnificence: the glory of autumn.

5. A state of great splendor, magnificence, or prosperity.

Well, that pretty much sums it up, doesn’t it? All five of these definitions point to God. We give Him very great praise, honor, or distinction by common and personal consent. He is someone who is a source of honor, fame and admiration. He is worthy of adoring praise or worshipful thanksgiving. His word tells us of His resplendent beauty and magnificence and prosperity and we can see this in nature. Because of all of this, we can give Him glory and praise.

There are many things the Bible lists that you can do with glory. You can see it, give it, get it, behold it, have it appear, be sanctified by it, ask to see it, have it pass by you, cover you, and be filled by it. And that’s all just in the first five Books of the Bible! You can go to Biblegateway.com and do a topical search on “give glory” to get all of the references.

Do you take some time each day to give God glory?  I think you may be surprised when you think about it. How about when you hear the kids laugh, or you hear the voice of someone you love? Do you take a quick second to admire the sunrise or sunset? Thank the Lord for the rain that waters the garden for you or the snow for the kids to play in?

How about something closer to home, your home, for instance. Is it a mansion in a gated community or a box in an ally?  Most likely it’s something in between, a modest two bedroom home with a backyard and garage or the converted school bus that I lived in for four months.

A little over a year ago I moved out of my apartment because rent was due and I had no money to pay it.  I searched for Alliance Churches in Duluth, MN and called the pastor. After explaining what was happening in my life I asked him if he could help me find a place to live for a short time. After a couple of days he told me of a bus on the church property that belonged to some missionaries. They had given permission for me to stay in the bus as long as I needed to. I lived there from October to the following February and I Loved it!

I had the essentials; clothes, food, laptop and some of my favorite books and movies, water that I toted from the church and a personal sized porta-potty that stored in the shower. There was a couple of Grey Owls living close by and I could hear them hooting to each other very early in the morning and sometimes during the evening. I would walk outside at night and look up and see the stars and they would never cease to cause me to praise God for His handiwork.

God and I had some great times that bus, talking to each other, listening to the wind in the trees, reading His word and going for walks. Praising and giving thanks and glory to Him for having taught me the joy of being content wherever He has placed me. To this day, even in my nice little apartment, I long to go back and live in the bus again.

You see, giving God glory is something you can do all day long by saying a quick “”thank you” or “Oh God, you do good work” when you see something beautiful that catches your eye. He placed it there just for you to see, to remind you He loves you so very much.

So when you take time to smell the roses or get ready to yell for the kids, take a second and remember to give God the Glory for all He has given you.

About coalowl

My eyes are green, my hair is white and the rest changes without notice and frequently does! I've been a volunteer with the American Red Cross since 1972 and currently a MN State Certified Emergency Manager.
This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What it means to give Glory to God

  1. Hello, i feel that i noticed you visited my website so i came to “go back the desire”.I’m trying to find issues to improve my web site!I suppose its good enough to make use of some of your ideas!!

Leave a Reply

