Mottos, Sayings and Life Statements

The definition of “motto” is a short phrase that is intended to capture the essence of the beliefs and purpose of a government, group, company or individual.

Some mottos are so well-known that no one remembers who said them. Others are usually attributed to someone else for example;

“Some people’s minds are like concrete. All mixed up and permanently set!”

“The difference between winners and losers is that winners get up one more time!”

“Do or do not, there is no try”. – Yoda (Star Wars movie)

“Be yourself; everyone else is already taken.”-Oscar Wilde

“Either you run the day, or the day runs you.”-Jim Rohn

“Never, never, never, never, never give up!”- Winston Churchill

Then there is what I call Personal Life Statements. These are sayings that each of us use to define or explain who and what we are. Some we make up and some we take straight from the Bible. For example;

“I will do unto others as I want them to do unto me” – Luke 6:31(paraphrased)

Lord, grant that I might not so much seek to be loved as to love.- St. Francis of Assisi

“Sooner or later, no matter what happens, God is going to make everything turn out alright.”-Marian Green

The last statement is my Life Statement. It is something I have believed in and held onto since I was a little girl. I didn’t understand why I believed it until I got older. I just knew that it was true.  It has held me together through my darkest hours, reminding me that God is still in control. Whatever I was, and am still going through has never caught Him by surprise.

It comforted me as I heard my parents fight. It guarded and guided me the night I was going to jump from a bridge. It turned me around the day I headed for the abortion clinic and it called the angels who stood between me and my child the day my anger raged.

Sooner or later, no matter what happens, God is going to make everything turn out alright has taught me; patience, how to adapt and be willing to change in all circumstances and eventually, as I learned to understand it, how and why God could ever love me and want me for His child and ask Him into my life and forgive all my sins.

Sooner or later has taken Fifty-nine years, so far. As He continues to allow me more time on this earth I’m still learning to change and conform to His will for my life.

Joel 2:13-14 says, “Change your life, not just your clothes. Come back to God, your God. And here’s why: God is kind and merciful. He takes a deep breath, puts up with a lot, this most patient God, extravagant in love, always ready to cancel catastrophe. Who knows? Maybe he’ll do it now; maybe he’ll turn around and show pity. Maybe, when all’s said and done, there’ll be blessings full and robust for your God!” The Message

Sooner or later, no matter what happens, God is going to make everything turn out alright. I believe this with all my heart that God is faithful and has proven He has and will forevermore love me and care for me.

You can have this same assurance. If you have not already done so, simply tell Him that you believe that He gave His Son, Jesus, to die on the cross for your sins, and that He rose from the dead. That because He promised, if you call on His name and receive His free gift of Salvation, He will declare you “Not Guilty” and take you to be with Him in Heaven someday.

The next two things you need to do are; tell a pastor or someone you know to be a Christian, that you just asked Christ into your life.  Next, get baptized. Getting sprinkled as a child only got you wet. This is an act of obedience, after an adult decision, in following Christ.

Mark this day down in your Bible to refer to it when Satan whispers to you, “Did you really do that?” You can reply “Yep, I sure did and here is the day!”

My life verse, which has become another Life Statement to answer all doubts, is Titus 1:2 “In the Blessed Assurance of eternal life which God, Who cannot lie, promised before the world began.”

May God richly bless you as you start your new life in Christ. And remember, Sooner or later, no matter what happens, God is going to make everything turn out alright in your life too!

About coalowl

My eyes are green, my hair is white and the rest changes without notice and frequently does! I've been a volunteer with the American Red Cross since 1972 and currently a MN State Certified Emergency Manager.
This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

