He is not finished with me yet

Child -“Mom, I’ve finished cleaning my room!”
Mom -“Nothing left on the floor, no toys or clothes?”
Child -“Let me check”, sound of footsteps going and coming back. “Nope, floor is all clean”.
Mom -“Nothing under the bed?”
Child -“Ummm.”
Mom – “Cleaning your room means under the bed too and don’t stuff it in your closet either.”
A while later, “Mom, look what I found under my bed! I thought I lost this.”
Mom – “See the great things you can find when you clean your room? Are you all finished now and ready for me to check it?”
Child – “Not yet, I want to see what else is under there!”
Mom – “Want some help?”
Child – “Sure!”

Me – “Lord I’ve finished cleaning my, I mean, your house. I hope you like it here!”
Jesus – “Nothing left in the corners, any anger, bitterness, lies, grudges, envy? Not even a little bit of irritation with somebody?”
Me – “Let me check. Nope, all clean.”
Jesus – “What about this closet?”
Me – “What closet? That closet? Do I really need to go in there? I don’t like that closet. It’s dark and scary! That’s why I boarded it all up so the stuff can’t get out.”
Jesus – “I’m sorry; I thought you gave me your whole house.”
Me – “I did, I mean I do, I mean, you want that closet, too?”
Jesus -“It is part of the house, isn’t it? You did say you were giving me all of it. Or did you mean all of it but this closet?”
Me –“No, Lord, I did mean all of it but I can’t open the door to clean it out. It’s boarded up to tight.”
Jesus –“Would you like me to help you open it, and then we can clean it out together.”
Me –“To tell you the truth, Lord, no, I don’t want to open it. But if it’s that important to you I guess we can. Are you really sure you want to? I know you won’t like what you’re going to find in there. You may even decide it’s not worth your trouble and move out.”
Jesus –“Oh, my very dear Child, you invited Me to come in and live here with you. I will never leave you or forsake you no matter what we find in this closet. I will always love you and some day when you’re through with this house, I’ll take you to a brand new house that I’m building just for you!”
Me –“In that case, Lord, will you help me clean the basement too? It’s really bad.”
Jesus –“Let’s get started, shall we? I’ve been dying to help you. Thank you for asking.”
Me -“Thank you for not being finished with this house and thank you for moving in! This is going to take a lot of renovation to make it really nice.”
Jesus-“I am the Master Carpenter. With your willingness to allow me to work on this house, it will do just fine until your new house is ready!”

We are all works in progress when we ask Jesus into our lives. He is not only the Master Carpenter; He is a Master Healer, too. Able to take all that we offer Him and change it into something He can use to His glory. All we have to do is ask for His help and snap, He is there, tools in hand. All He asks is that we are willing to open every door in our house/heart to Him so He can heal, cleanse and repair it.
Aren’t you glad, He is not finished with us, yet?

About coalowl

My eyes are green, my hair is white and the rest changes without notice and frequently does! I've been a volunteer with the American Red Cross since 1972 and currently a MN State Certified Emergency Manager.
This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to He is not finished with me yet

Leave a Reply

