Sunrise

Sunrise or Son rise
Lamentations 3:22-24 (NRSV)”The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases, his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.”

I love getting up before the sun does each morning. It’s the Lords and my special time together. I love to watch Him paint the sky each day. Each sunrise is His promise of a new and fresh start. As the sun raises it also reminds me that the Son of God has also risen and is alive and looking to greet me just as eagerly.

I especially love it when He brings in a few clouds and paints them too. It reminds me that though there will be some bumps along the way, He can and will make something beautiful from it.

Two mornings stand out. One day there was just a small opening in the clouds. Dark red sun light showed from behind them. It looked like an eye from the side. Then as I continued to watch, from the middle of the eye came a beam of light like what you would see from a lighthouse, piercing the clouds ahead of it. It reminded me that we are to be Gods Light to the World, shining His Light and Love to everyone who comes under its influence.

It also reminded me that God sees everything. Nothing escapes His notice. There is nothing too small to hide from His gaze. No place to dark that His light cannot pierce through and fill. No hurt that does not grab His attention.

Every good work that we do in His Name also falls under His eye. Every glass of water given, every outstretched hand to lift up another hurting person is seen and recorded. Every touch of love and kindness done in His Name is noticed.Pastor John Hagee said, “There is an eye in the sky, it’s Jewish and it’s watching over you!”

The other morning sky was very unusual. It was the very first time I ever saw a sunrise disappear! It started out as normal, a thin muted red line with a bump in the middle. Here it comes, I thought, eagerly waiting to see the Lords gift. The bump got a little bigger, about the size of half of a quarter. Then it just seemed to shrink away to nothing! A sunrise in reverse! It was only the cloud cover getting thicker between me and the sun, just like sin gets between me and the Son.

My first thought was, oh no, it’s going away! Then there was a whisper in my heart. “No, Child, it’s still there, still shining. It will continue to shine until I replace it!”

As I looked out my window again, everything was a pale icy shade of grey. But my heart was warmed by the knowledge that it doesn’t matter whether or not I can see the physical sun, the Son of God will always be there, loving and forgiving. He has promised that He will never leave me alone. I don’t have to worry about what the day will hold for me as He has it all under His watchful Eye and is always ready to give me a new start.

About coalowl

My eyes are green, my hair is white and the rest changes without notice and frequently does! I've been a volunteer with the American Red Cross since 1972 and currently a MN State Certified Emergency Manager.
This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunrise

Leave a Reply

